On-site exhibition

Thomas Teurlai

19 Avenue André Mussat 35000 Rennes

Thomas Teurlai
Thomas Teurlai
01.21
05.15
2022

Artist inhabited by a buried history of forms, materials and ritual practices, Thomas Teurlai invests spaces all over the world, from white cube to decaying industrial spaces. Uncovering stories, rearranging sounds, sculptures and human sciences, the artist brings back life and movement to abandoned objects and stories. From this meeting between the worlds of alchemy, DIY and the sacred emerge hybrid installations that solicit our erogenous zones. The visitor finds himself involved, body and soul, in these spaces of quirky poetry, where time seems to expand.

For his exhibition at Frac Bretagne, Thomas Teurlai focusses on subsidence, a geological phenomenon describing the sinking of mega-cities due to the pumping of underground water and intensive concreting. This global collapse serves as the start of a filmic wandering in subjective view.
Cyberpunk reverie where a ghost museum wanders its feet in the water, collapsing under the repeated assaults of spores and other antediluvian viruses. A wandering back in time, weaving together seemingly distant spaces.
There will be the mummies of street artists lying on the dusty banks of a stillborn story.
A radioactive granite astrolabe making up the soundtrack, like an inverted monolithic Theremin.
And a text as a epileptic spinning wheel, spinning the way off to exit the tunnel.
On the other side of the stained wormhole.

  • Thomas Teurlai

Contact

Frac Bretagne

19 avenue André Mussat
CS 81123
F-35011 Rennes cedex
France

accueil@fracbretagne.fr
T +33 (0)2 99 37 37 93

Opening hours

MON
CLOSED
TUE
12H-19H
WED
12H-19H
THU
12H-19H
FRI
12H-19H
SAT
12H-19H
SUN
12H-19H
Stay updated with Platform news

exposition dans les murs

Thomas Teurlai

19 Avenue André Mussat 35000 Rennes

Thomas Teurlai
Thomas Teurlai
21.01
15.05
2022

Artiste habité par une histoire ensevelie des formes, de matériaux et de pratiques rituelles, Thomas Teurlai investit des espaces aux quatre coins du monde, du white cube aux espaces industriels déclassés. Exhumant des récits, bouturant sons, sculptures et sciences humaines, l’artiste redonne vie et mouvement à des objets et des histoires délaissées. De cette rencontre entre les mondes de l’alchimie, du bricolage et du sacré émergent des installations hybrides qui sollicitent nos zones érogènes. Le visiteur se retrouve impliqué, corps et âme, dans ces espaces d’une poésie décalée, où le temps semble se dilater.

Pour son exposition au Frac Bretagne, Thomas Teurlai s’intéresse à la subsidence, phénomène géologique décrivant l’enfoncement des mégapoles dû au pompage des eaux souterraines et au bétonnage intensif. Cet affaissement global sert d’amorce à une errance filmique en vue subjective.
Rêverie cyberpunk où un musée fantôme erre les pieds dans l’eau, périclitant sous les assauts répétés de spores et autres virus antédiluviens. Une déambulation à rebours du temps, tissant entre eux des espaces à priori éloignés.
S’y croiserons les momies de street artists gisant sur les rives poussiéreuse d’une histoire mort-née.
Un astrolabe de granit radioactif composant la bande son, comme un Thérémine monolithique inversé.
Et un texte en rouet-épileptique, filant la voie off pour sortir du tunnel.
De l’autre côté du trou de ver teinté.

  • Thomas Teurlai

Contact

Frac Bretagne

19 avenue André Mussat
CS 81123
F-35011 Rennes cedex

accueil@fracbretagne.fr
T +33 (0)2 99 37 37 93

Heures d'ouverture

EXPOSITIONS
LUN
FERMÉ
MAR
12H-19H
MER
12H-19H
JEU
12H-19H
VEN
12H-19H
SAM
12H-19H
DIM
12H-19H
DOCUMENTATION
LUN
FERMÉ
MAR
14H-18H LE MATIN SUR RDV
MER
14H-18H LE MATIN SUR RDV
JEU
14H-18H LE MATIN SUR RDV
VEN
14H-18H LE MATIN SUR RDV
SAM
FERMÉ
DIM
FERMÉ
Restez informé des actualités de Platform