On-site exhibition

Children Power

22 Rue des Alouettes 75019 Paris

Visuel de travail © Bruno Botella / graphisme Baldinger Vu-Huu
Visuel de travail © Bruno Botella / graphisme Baldinger Vu-Huu
05.19
12.19
2021

To mark the opening of its new reserve collections in Romainville, in 2021, the Frac Île-de-France proposes a three-part exhibition project based on the theme of childhood called Children Power. It will take place in three venues, Le Plateau in Paris, the Château de Rentilly and at Les Réserves in Romainville. This project highlights the central role that young audiences play regarding artistic activities Implemented by the Frac.

At Le plateau: an exhibition FOR children
Exhibition forbidden to over 18s*

At Le Plateau, the exhibition presented is designed exclusively for under-eighteens: beyond the reversal of the usual age restrictions, it is a very radical way of asserting the central role that children and teenagers play in the project. In particular, artists featuring in the exhibition will be invited to produce pieces created especially for them.

Echoing previous initiatives like the 1st art centre for children, Mille Formes, in Clermont-Ferrand and the Canadian artist Gareth Moore’s itinerant project, Children’s Films, that took place in England and Germany from 2011 to 2014, the exhibition at Le Plateau takes the same unusual step of being not only intended but also uniquely accessible to children.

The works produced by the artists will be designed for very young children, presented at their height, with a play on scale and scenography, works that can be touched and handled, spaces that can be taken over to express yourself in a free and fun way, as well as for adolescents with a ‘clubbing’ area proposed by one artist, and one part of the exhibition providing older children with an opportunity to feature in the works of art and share their experience of the exhibition on social networks.

Whether directly acting as exhibition mediators with adults at certain public events, or actively contributing to specific tools for mediation (magazine and film about the exhibition produced by the children, working in advance with the Frac public services department), the children will fully partake in the project.

*Accessible to adults accompanied by a child under 18

  • Michel Blazy, Anne Bourse, Ulla von Brandenburg, Monster Chetwynd, Keren Cytter, Daniel Dewar/Grégory Gicquel, Bertrand Dezoteux, David Douard, Richard Fauguet, Ryan Gander, Jonathan Martin, Anouchka Oler, Pierre Paulin, Jean-Charles de Quillacq, Tursic & Mille.
— Curator(s): Xavier Franceschi

Contact

Frac Île-de-France
Le Plateau
22, rue des Alouettes
75019 Paris, France

info@fraciledefrance.com
T. +33 (0)1 76 21 13 41

Opening hours

MON
CLOSED
TUE
CLOSED
WED
2PM-7PM
THU
2PM-7PM
FRI
2PM-7PM
SAT
2PM-7PM
SUN
2PM-7PM
Stay updated with Platform news

exposition dans les murs

Children Power

22 Rue des Alouettes 75019 Paris

Visuel de travail © Bruno Botella / graphisme Baldinger Vu-Huu
Visuel de travail © Bruno Botella / graphisme Baldinger Vu-Huu
19.05
19.12
2021

À l’occasion de l’ouverture de ses nouvelles réserves à Romainville, le Frac Île-de-France propose en 2021, un projet d’exposition en trois volets autour du thème de l’enfance intitulé Children Power, prenant place dans ses trois lieux, au Plateau à Paris, au Château de Rentilly et dans les Réserves à Romainville. Ce projet met en lumière la place primordiale que le jeune public occupe au sein de l’action artistique menée par le Frac.

Au Plateau : une exposition POUR  les enfants
Exposition interdite aux plus de 18 ans*

Au Plateau, l’exposition présentée sera exclusivement conçue pour les moins de dix-huit ans : au-delà du retournement de l’interdit auquel nous sommes habitués, il s’agira d’une façon très radicale d’affirmer la place centrale que les enfants et adolescents occuperont dans le projet. En particulier, les artistes de l’exposition seront invités à produire des pièces spécialement conçues pour eux.

Faisant écho à de précédentes initiatives comme au projet itinérant de l’artiste canadien Gareth Moore, Children’s Films, mené en Angleterre et en Allemagne de 2011 à 2014, l’exposition au Plateau fait le même pari d’être non seulement destinée mais aussi uniquement accessible aux enfants.

Les œuvres produites par les artistes seront pensées aussi bien à destination des plus jeunes enfants – avec des œuvres présentées à leur hauteur, des jeux d’échelle et de scénographie, des œuvres à toucher et à manipuler, des espaces à investir pour s’exprimer de façon libre et ludique – qu’à destination des adolescents, avec un espace « clubbing » proposé par un artiste, tandis qu’une partie de l’exposition offrira aux plus grands la possibilité de se mettre en scène avec les œuvres et de partager leur expérience via les réseaux sociaux.

Que ce soit en étant directement les médiateurs de l’exposition auprès d’adultes lors de certains rendez-vous proposés au public, ou en investissant les outils de médiation (journal et film sur l’exposition réalisés par les enfants, dans le cadre d’un travail en amont avec le service des publics du Frac), les enfants seront pleinement acteurs du projet.

* non accompagné.e.s d’un.e – de 18 ans

  • Michel Blazy, Anne Bourse, Ulla von Brandenburg, Monster Chetwynd, Keren Cytter, Daniel Dewar/Grégory Gicquel, Bertrand Dezoteux, David Douard, Richard Fauguet, Ryan Gander, Jonathan Martin, Anouchka Oler, Pierre Paulin, Jean-Charles de Quillacq, Tursic & Mille.
— Commissaire(s) : Xavier Franceschi

Contact

Frac Île-de-France
Le Plateau
22, rue des Alouettes
75019 Paris

info@fraciledefrance.com
01 76 21 13 41

Heures d'ouverture

LUN
FERME
MAR
FERME
MER
14h - 19h
JEU
14h - 19h
VEN
14h - 19h
SAM
14h - 19h
DIM
14h - 19h
Restez informé des actualités de Platform