On-site exhibition

Cathy Josefowitz & Susie Green, Empty rooms full of love

1 Place Museux 51100 Reims

Vue de l’exposition, Cathy Josefowitz & Susie Green, Empty rooms full of love, FRAC Champagne-Ardenne, 2021. ©Martin Argyroglo
Vue de l’exposition, Cathy Josefowitz & Susie Green, Empty rooms full of love, FRAC Champagne-Ardenne, 2021. ©Martin Argyroglo
01.01
08.22
2021

The FRAC Champagne-Ardenne is pleased to present the first institutional exhibition in France of Swiss artist Cathy Josefowitz (1956, New York - 2014, Geneva) and English artist Susie Green (b. 1979). Empty rooms full of love orchestrates the unprecedented encounter between two bodies of work that share an affinity of medium— painting, drawing, collage, performance, music— both exploring themes such as otherness and disguise. In both works, the use of theatrical devices is part of questioning the relationship to the body, itself engaged in the intimate journey of quest for self. This crossing of paths highlights two powerful and sensitive approaches focusing on the emancipation of the body through the gaze of two generations of female artists.

Empty rooms full of love is an invitation to allow oneself to be permeated with the female gaze, that which describes a feminine experience of the world and that everyone can identify with. What does it mean to inhabit a woman’s body, to experience it and go beyond it? Do the empty rooms full of love refer to interior spaces, to women’s bodies or to the museum space? Is the one that fill it with love, the person who enters this space or the one that it belongs to?

The exhibition features works co-authored by Cathy Josefowitz and Susie Green with: Simon Bayliss, Claire Bushe, Kim Coleman, Romain Denis, Cathy Frost, Lisa Halse, Tess McDermott, Rory Pilgrim and Mara de Witt.

This exhibition has benefited from the support of Fluxus Art Projects.

  • Cathy Josefowitz and Susie Green with: Simon Bayliss, Claire Bushe, Kim Coleman, Romain Denis, Cathy Frost, Lisa Halse, Tess McDermott, Rory Pilgrim and Mara de Witt.
— Curator(s): Bettina Moriceau Maillard, Marie Griffay
Rencontre avec Bettina Moriceau Maillard et Marie Griffay

Contact

Frac Champagne-Ardenne
1, place Museux
51100 Reims, France

contact@frac-champagneardenne.org
T. +33(0)3 26 05 78 32

Opening hours

MON
CLOSED
TUE
CLOSED
WED
2PM-6PM
THU
2PM-6PM
FRI
2PM-6PM
SAT
2PM-6PM
SUN
2PM-6PM
Stay updated with Platform news

exposition dans les murs

Cathy Josefowitz & Susie Green, Empty rooms full of love

1 Place Museux 51100 Reims

Vue de l’exposition, Cathy Josefowitz & Susie Green, Empty rooms full of love, FRAC Champagne-Ardenne, 2021. ©Martin Argyroglo
Vue de l’exposition, Cathy Josefowitz & Susie Green, Empty rooms full of love, FRAC Champagne-Ardenne, 2021. ©Martin Argyroglo
01.01
22.08
2021

Le FRAC Champagne-Ardenne présente la première exposition institutionnelle en France de l’artiste suisse Cathy Josefowitz (1956, New York - 2014, Genève) et de l’artiste anglaise Susie Green (née en 1979). Empty rooms full of love orchestre la rencontre inédite de deux œuvres qui partagent une affinité de médiums - peinture, dessin, collage, performance, musique - et explorent les thèmes de l’altérité et du déguisement, notamment par le recours aux artifices du monde du spectacle, et du rapport au corps, à travers le cheminement intime de la quête de soi. Ce parcours croisé met en lumière deux démarches artistiques puissantes et sensibles sur l’émancipation des corps à travers le regard de deux générations d’artistes femmes.

Empty rooms full of love est une invitation à se laisser imprégner par le female gaze, ce regard qui décrit une expérience féminine du monde et auquel tou·te·s peuvent s’identifier. Que signifie habiter le corps d’une femme, en faire l'expérience voire le dépasser ? Est-ce que les espaces vides remplis d’amour – du titre de l’exposition tiré d’un des nombreux carnets de Cathy Josefowitz - se réfèrent à des espaces intérieurs, à ceux du corps des femmes ou encore à l’espace muséal ? Celui qui y investit de l’amour est-il celui qui y pénètre, ou celui à qui ce corps-espace appartient ?

L’exposition présente des œuvres co-réalisées par Cathy Josefowitz et Susie Green avec Simon Bayliss, Kim Coleman, Rory Pilgrim, Mara de Witt, Romain Denis, Claire Bushe, Tess McDermott, Cathy Frost, Lisa Halse.

Exposition réalisée avec le soutien de Fluxus Art Projects.

  • Cathy Josefowitz and Susie Green with: Simon Bayliss, Claire Bushe, Kim Coleman, Romain Denis, Cathy Frost, Lisa Halse, Tess McDermott, Rory Pilgrim and Mara de Witt.
— Commissaire(s) : Bettina Moriceau Maillard, Marie Griffay
Rencontre avec Bettina Moriceau Maillard et Marie Griffay

Contact

Frac Champagne-Ardenne
1, place Museux
51100 Reims

contact@frac-champagneardenne.org
T. +33(0)3 26 05 78 32

Heures d'ouverture

LUN
FERMÉ
MAR
FERMÉ
MER
14h - 18h
JEU
14h - 18h
VEN
14h - 18h
SAM
14h - 18h
DIM
14h - 18h
Restez informé des actualités de Platform